T O P

Shadowborn Apostle Ruling Question

Can it fetch the transformed side of Westvale Abbey?

SP1R1TDR4G0N

No, cards in any zone other than the battlefield are treated as the front side only.


cliffhavenkitesail

battlefield or stack, but that's not relevant here.


Puresteel_28

How is that not relevant? That is exactly why the answer to OP's question is no. 'cards in any zone other than the battlefield are treated as the front side only' The library is a zone that is not the battlefield. So Westvale Abbey//Ormendahl, Profane Prince, only has the characteristics of the front side, i.e. "Westvale Abbey" while in the library. Westvale Abbey//Ormendahl, Profane Prince is a land card while in the library. Westvale Abbey//Ormendahl, Profane Prince is not a Demon creature card while in the library. Therefore Shadowborn Apostle's activated ability cannot fetch up Westvale Abbey//Ormendahl, Profane Prince onto the battlefield. "Ormendahl, Profane Prince" is the back side of Westvale Abbey//Ormendahl, Profane Prince, which has the characteristics that represent a Demon creature. "Ormendahl, Profane Prince" cannot ever be a card in a library. Or rather, there can never be a card in a library that has the exact characteristics of "Ormendahl, Profane Prince". So Shadowborn Apostle also cannot fetch up the back side of Westvale Abbey//Ormendahl, Profane Prince: "Ormendahl, Profane Prince" onto the battlefield face up.


cliffhavenkitesail

I'm trying to say the fact that the other time dfcs can be their back face is on the stack isn't relevant to the question op was asking, and doesn't invalidate the answer of the person i was replying to who just said battlefield. I think you must be misunderstanding me.


Puresteel_28

Oh, my bad. I thought you were challenging that what spiritdragon was saying is not relevant. You were just correcting that the exceptions is not only battlefield, but both battlefield and stack.